Understand Lemon Law Statutes and Find Expert Information
All 50 states, as well as the District of Columbia, have some type of Lemon Law, but it varies by state. Understanding Lemon Law statutes is your first step toward protecting yourself if you’ve accidentally bought a lemon vehicle.
What is a “Lemon Law,” and why do you need to know? Find expert information here and get the legal help you need if you bought a lemon car or truck.
What Is the Lemon Law?
You’ve likely heard the term “lemon” before in reference to a terrible car, but what is a Lemon Law for used cars or new vehicles?
Although each state varies on what they consider a lemon, a lemon is a vehicle with repeated, unrepairable issues. A Lemon Law is a regulation that is meant to help consumers that purchased these defective vehicles.
So how does a car typically qualify as a lemon? In most states, it needs to meet the following criteria:
- Contains a substantial defect unfixable by auto dealers or makers
- Defect(s) that cannot be repaired even after a reasonable number of attempts
- The defect presents a serious safety hazard
Unfortunately, there is a lot of room for subjectivity. That’s why it’s important to read up on your state’s Lemon Laws.
Breaking Down Qualifications
Since Lemon Laws vary so widely, you must take the time to educate yourself on what each qualification boils down to in your area.
What counts as a reasonable number of repair attempts? What qualifies as a substantial defect?
For an example, let’s look at the Lemon Law in NJ.
In New Jersey, the vehicle must have been to a repair shop at least three times for the same nonconformity or 20+ calendar days for one or more problems. Consumers with a lemon vehicle with a repetitive nonconformity are covered as long as the issue arises within either the first 24 months of ownership or 24,000 miles.
What about the Lemon Law in PA?
In Pennsylvania, the law covers vehicles with nonconformities that appear within the first twelve months or the first 12,000 miles. To qualify, the vehicle must have undergone at least three repair attempts. In addition, if the vehicle is in a repair shop for fixes 30 days or longer within the first 12 months or 12,000 miles, it may also qualify.
Finding Legal Help
Since there are so many variables involved in Lemon Laws, your best bet to protect yourself is to seek legal help. An attorney can walk you through the details of Lemon Laws in your state and whether your vehicle qualifies.
If you believe you’ve purchased a lemon vehicle, consult with Lemon Law attorneys to learn more about your options and how you can protect yourself.
If you have been the victim of an accident due to a lemon defect, find accident attorneys near you for a case evaluation.
When Life Gives You Lemons
Even if you found yourself with a lemon vehicle, you do have options. Learn about the Lemon Law in your state and seek legal advice if you believe you were sold a lemon car or truck.
For more information about Lemon Laws and other related topics, check out the rest of our website for informative articles you can’t miss.